4 Thoughts About Sunsets

Last night Lee and I went to a pretty cool lookout, Lover’s Leap, at Cameron Park. It was beautiful, and the evening was cool and perfect. There’s something about sunsets that just make a person feel insignificant and nostalgic all at once. Here are a few thoughts that ran through my head while the sun raced out of sight.

1.) Time goes by so quickly. It seems like just yesterday that I was in high school dying to get out of Louisiana. I realized Lee and I have been married for six months, and together for 4 1/2 years, which is crazy because I feel like I’ve known him my whole life. In the last few seconds where the sun is quickly disappearing, I reflected on just how fleeting our days are and how I want to make mine matter.

2.) Our creator is a master artist. I can’t imagine how people can watch colorful sunsets or look at the stars stretching out across the night sky, and not see the touch of an almighty God. I felt small and insignificant thinking about how huge, marvelous and gracious God is. The sunset we watched tonight looked like a beautiful watercolor painting. I know we weren’t the only one enjoying it, as I saw a young artist sketching it out on a notepad with colored pencils. I couldn’t help but imagine our heavenly Father sitting with his paintbrush and canvas, creating such beautiful, natural masterpieces for us to admire and experience. Following this train of thought, I was very overwhelmed to remember that each of us is one of His beautiful creations. He crafted each of us intentionally with the same care and love with which He made the sunsets and the stars.

3.) There are so many things I want to do before my last sunset. James tells us in the Bible, “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes” (James 4:14, NIV). Watching the sunset made me hyper aware of how short our time is on Earth. There are so many things on my bucket list. I want to travel, throughout the U.S. and the world. I want to spread the gospel everywhere I go. I want to have a house of my own, in which I can’t see every room from where I’m sitting. I want to adopt a bunch of kittens and puppies. I want to have and potentially adopt children one day. I want to spend time with my family and friends. I realized the importance of doing these things now because I do not know what tomorrow will bring.

4.)  I was grateful to share the moment with my husband. I am extremely blessed to have such a God-fearing, kind-hearted and sweet-tempered husband. Watching the sunset with him by my side was comforting in many ways. I’m glad I get to share the beautiful moments with him, and with him next to me I’m not afraid of the dark days that lie ahead. This sunset made me excited for all the sunsets we get to share for the rest of our lives, and grateful that God placed Lee in my life right when He knew I needed him. I know that with the Holy Spirit within me, and Lee beside me, I can face anything that will come my way.

 

Sunsets are beautiful, fleeting moments that God gives us to reflect on our days and our lives. You never know when the sunset you’re watching will be your last. If you are on the edge of becoming a believer or have never accepted Jesus into your heart, I pray that you will stop toeing the line and embrace Jesus before it’s too late. Accept His love and the life He has planned for you before your last sunset. With Christ, every day will matter. With Christ, there is so much to live for. With Christ, you don’t have to fear the sins of yesterday, today, or even tomorrow. With Jesus, there is no last sunset, only eternal life.
When the sun sets tomorrow, what will you wish you had done differently? Are there things you will wish you had done that you didn’t? If you could go back and change anything about your past, what would it be? What do you want to accomplish before your last sunset? I would love to read your answers! Please let me know what you think in the comments!

Also, here are some photos of sunsets that I have watched and found particularly beautiful throughout my life:

IMG_20150510_101907

This was from a boat on Sibley Lake while catfishing with Uncle Stanley.

IMG_20150809_210219

Toledo Bend, fishing with my husband and father-in-law.

10287989_10203713719352158_453262254_o

A sunset over Lee’s grandparent’s home in Texas.

10494388_10204461089435943_2725752127662496010_o

This is actually a really fun photo. It was sunset at Disney’s Hollywood Studios in Orlando, Florida. This rainbow appeared over Hollywood Boulevard, and I quickly snapped the photo before the sun went down.

13227280_10209829926533515_3378635231636535606_o

Lee walking ahead of me at Panama City Beach during the sunset.

18954980_10213588012043304_295598943742447750_o

Another beautiful Waco sunset. This is from Mrs. Nellie’s Pretty Place, a beautiful wildflower area at Cameron Park. Waco has some of the most consistently beautiful sunsets I have ever seen, no matter where you are in the city. It’s one of the many things I love about my new home city.

The next few photos are from my home town, Natchitoches, Louisiana. The first two, including this one, are from Behan Street, where mine and Lee’s first house was. The third photo is from the top of Turpin, our college’s football stadium. Most people at NSU make it a point to watch a sunset or sunrise from the top of the stadium before graduation.


The next few photos are also from Waco. This one was from our apartment complex. The rest are from Baylor campus near Pat Neff Hall.

“There is nothing is more musical than a sunset. He who feels what he sees will find no more beautiful example of development in all that book which, alas, musicians read but too little – the book of Nature.” -Claude Debussy

Love and blessings,
AW

4 thoughts on “4 Thoughts About Sunsets

Leave a Reply

